Korea, Here I Come!

Dear Squids,

So, I just found out the most awesome information ever. But before I tell you what it was, I need to give you back up story because since this is my blog I’m just going to pretend that you are all interested in my life. My senior fall semster of college was my toughest by far. I was applying to grad schools, studying for subject GRE tests, working on an honor’s thesis, and applying for a Fullbright scholarship. For those of you who don’t know, a Fullbright teaching assistanship sends you to a foreign country for a year to teach English. They are highly competitive and prestigious. I applied to go to Korea. I think I wanted that opportunity more than anything else. In April, I was notified I was an alternate. And knowing how competitive the award is, I figured there was no way I was going to get the chance to recieve it, and I was devstated. Then about an hour ago, I received a phone call, and a nice man told me that some new funding had been gathered and I would be reciving the scholarship after all. I thanked him very politely, then hung up the phone and screamed as loudly as I could. I’m amazed the neighbors didn’t call the cops.

So holy shit, I get to go live in South Korea for a year. Wow. It hasn’t really sunk in yet, but the last time I was this excited was when I was about to go to France last January. I had never been out of the United States before, so I was so pumped. But this is new. That trip to France was for three weeks. I’ll be in South Korea for a year. I will really get to know the culture and meet people. I want to scream again.

Bringing this back to movies because this is a movie blog… does anyone know any god Korean movies I should see before leaving?

4 thoughts on “Korea, Here I Come!

Feedback...

