Seven Pounds

Image

I knew this was going to come up eventually in this blog. I am a movie crier. When I say a movie crier, I don’t just mean ethereal silent tears. If the movie is sad or moving enough, I will be balling so loudly that my family runs into the room to make sure I haven’t sliced open an artery.

I bring this up because Seven Pounds totally had this effect on me. Seven Pounds, directed by Gabriele Muccino, was released in 2008. After causing his wife’s death, Tim Thomas (Will Smith) poses as an IRS agent to significantly change seven peoples’ lives in true Pay it Forward style, and then plans to commit suicide. However, he unexpectedly falls in love with one of the people he’s trying to help.

According to Wikipedia, most critics didn’t like this movie. Usually, me and critics are on the same page because of my extremely high standards for movies, but not in this case. I loved Seven Pounds. I basically love any movie that can make me whale l like a baby because that proves that it created a very strong emotional connection with me. Either that or I am just way too emotional.

What I liked most about this movie was that the audience doesn’t learn everything at once because it is not a consecutive story. You see glimpses of the past throughout the present, which really keeps you engaged because you are constantly wondering about Tim’s motives. The second you figure it out, it’s heart breaking.

And I think this was Will Smith’s greatest performance, even better than his role in The Pursuit of Happiness. Now I feel I should stay away from Men in Black 3 because I don’t want to ruin my image of Will Smith.

For a beautiful story, great acting, and making me sob, I give this movie a 9. If you like cathartic crying, this movie is great. Hate sad movies, stay away.

 

Feedback...

