Iron Man 2: Sloppy Sequel Syndrome

Image

I really enjoyed the Avengers, but there were a few things in it that I didn’t understand, and I figured that was because I hadn’t seen some of the most recent prequels including Iron Man 2, Thor, and Captain America. So I decided to watch them. I started with Iron Man 2 mainly because Net Flix has it on instant play.

At least now I get why Iron Man has the glowing triangle on his chest rather than a circle, and also the tension between Stark and Agent Romanoff. So it did clear some things up and give me a few laughs, but I don’t think it was near as good as the original Iron Man or the Avengers.

My biggest issue was all the fast paced people talking over each other throughout pretty much the entire movie. I get that it is humorous, and also works for the bickering relationship between Stark and Pepper, but I think it was used far too excessively in this film, to the point that it was more distracting and confusing than anything else. It made it difficult to keep up with what people were saying.

And I have to mention that terrible terrible scene during the race in Monaco. The particular spot I have in mind is when Pepper comes in the car and Vanko starts slicing it with his electric whips, or whatever. And so they just keep impaling Vanko with the car while Pepper screeches hysterically. Ridiculous in how it looked, just the general idea of it, and how it makes Pepper’s character seem weak.

What I did enjoy was Justin Hammer. There are very few things funnier than incompetent villains, and I think Sam Rockwell played Hammer perfectly. He was hilarious.

For being a mediocre movie at best, I give Iron Man 2 a 3 out of 10. I hope Thor and Captain America are better.

Feedback...